Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Various Artists : Scene Killer

'Scene Killer' was a project piloted by Jim Hogan of Solarized, and featuring a who's who of stoner musicians from the USA New Jersey scene: Solarized, Solace, Lemmings, Atomic Bitchwax, Monster Magnet, Core, Burnout King, and the late, lamented Drag Pack.

There are additional contributions by members of Iron Man, Giant Sloth, and Eternal Elysium. Over two years in the making, this is pretty much a stoner must-have for 2001. Extensive diary notes from Mr. Hogan outline the progress of this on-again, off-again project in detail, and are an interesting read in themselves.

So how does it sound? The answer is heavy, psychedelic, heavy, bluesy, heavy, distorted, and stoned out. Do I hear a "Hell Yeah"? You probably had the same feeling of anticipation that I did when you found out who was on this, and it does not disappoint. You can hear bits and pieces of the musicians' main bands: a bit of Core here, Solace there, and above all Solarized. The feeling is looser than the CDs of these bands might lead you to expect. Although some of the songs on 'Scene Killer' are quite well developed, more of them have a loose jamming feel, like a drunk brontosaurus stomping buildings in your home town, his mug pasted with a shit-eating grin. Anyone into the northeast US stoner scene will want this essential document!

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Intro
2. Island Zero
3. Pit of the Soul
4. You Know
5. Aurora
6. Interlude
7. Back of My Mind
8. Midnight Snack
9. Psychic Down
10. Wasteland
11. Found
12. Buckshot
13. As You Look

Duration : Approx. 62 minutes

Visit the Various Artists bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Kevin McHugh
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com