Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Graveyard Dirt is an irish band that bears the distinctive melancholic - while still quite raw - type of sound of the local scene: Mourning Beloveth
(read more)

Various Artists : Asymmetry

Totalrust Music is a brand new extreme doom metal label from Jerusalem, Israel. The Knell also resides there, but in general the Middle-eastern doom scene has a long way to go before reaching the size of the European and American scenes. Despite this, the label has managed to gather some of the most miserable of all doom bands, to appear on this compilation.

Musical misery comes in many forms. Amongst them you'll find doom/black, doom/death and funeral doom on this compilation. It contains just about everything that can hurt inside, making it concentrated agony. The manifestations of this agony include loneliness, aggression, lamentation, intense depression and paranoia. In other words, everything needed to satisfy the soul that has been deprived of all hope.

The compilation includes a lot of underground obscurities. Some of them - like Wreck Of The Hesperus and Asofy - have even contributed totally unique tracks to this release. All of them hold a high standard and show every single band at their most talented. Having also signed other promising acts such as Wraith Of The Ropes, it would seem that Totalrust Music will be an extreme doom force to be reckoned with in the future.

I recommend this CD to anyone who fancies the darker aspects of doom metal. In my humble opinion this is one of the most needed additions to any extreme doom collection. Besides, like all good despair-addicts, you know you need it and you know you'll love it.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
Lux Incerta:
1. 'Clear Water'
2. 'A State Of Decay'
3. 'Beyond The Waters'**
Mary Bell:
4. 'Armageddon Jam'
5. 'Luce'*
The Knell:
6. 'Into Shattered'*
Mar De Grises:
7. 'Mar De Grises'
8. 'Murky Waters'
Wreck Of The Hesperus:
9. 'Utter Rot'*
Abysmal Darkening:
10. 'End It'

* Exclusive track for this release.
** Exclusive version for this release.

Duration : Approx. 75 minutes

Visit the Various Artists bandpage.

Reviewed on 15-03-2006 by Arnstein Petersen
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com