Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Extreme Southern Sludge/Doom band that alternates between truly sick grinding slow Doom and truly sick grinding up tempo Sludge. Haunting screams, heavy riffing...
(read more)

Deinonychus : The Weeping of a Thousand Years

This second solo album by Marco Kehren, at the time going under the highly creative alias Odin, sees a definite shift away from his Black Metal roots towards Dark-metal / Doom-metal. In fact, this album caused Cacophonous to feel he did not fit within their "black-metal package" anymore. This led to arguments, ending in this being his last recording for them.

The album seems to revolve around a vampiric theme and as such has been labelled by many as "gothic". I however rather place this in the Dark-metal corner. The slow tempo, tortured vocals and melancholy we know from future albums like 'Ark of Thought' or 'Mournument', all this can be found here in plenty. But at times his black-metal past does rear its ugly head with some speedier passages. Fortunately, this is kept to a minimum.

'The Weeping of a Thousand Years' is perhaps the most accessible of all Marco's albums. Musically, it is more laid-back, focusing on (romantic) feelings of melancholy and sadness, for a large part due to the lush keyboard arrangements. Of course, when it comes to the vocals, Marco sounds as extreme and over the top as one would expect. We wouldn't want to have it any other way, would we? But it sounds less extreme than on his other albums, keeping the tortured screams to a bare minimum. The suicidal and depressive nature of his later albums is also still underdeveloped, giving wake to the before mentioned sad romanticism. All in all I must say this album surprised me. Not one review I read about it when it came out, seems to have been right. They either claimed it to be raw black-metal or to be soft gothic music. What do they know? Feh! Everybody knows I know best! But seriously, a worthy addition to the collection of any fan!

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. The Romantic Sounds of Death
2. A Gathering Of Memories
3. Upon The Highlands I Fought
4. A Last Lament
5. I Have Done As You Did
6. Lost Forever
7. The awakened
8.The Gothic Statue

Duration : Approx. 63 minutes

Visit the Deinonychus bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Aldo Quispel
No God Only Pain
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com