Album of the Month

The debut full-length from Greek band Automaton is weighty, sludgy, coffin-lid-slamming Doom perfection.
(Read more)

Random band

Starting out under the name Pik, this band released at least one Doom-metal album, 'The Heritage of Past Gods'. A mixture between more t...
(read more)

Earthbound Machine : Destined For The Grave

A powerful and huge debut full-length from Finland's Earthbound Machine - one to grab while it's still available!

Earthbound Machine have been around since 2013 but only have two EPs released. 'Destined for the Grave' is their debut album. The band is made up of four members and they hail from Helsinki in Finland. Ilkka Haavisto on vocals is fantastic, extremely powerful and he carries the music along with energy. Also to mention bass player Jussi "IronHammer" Myllykoski who many will know from Lord Vicar. From the opening track you can hear how huge his bass sound is. The remaining members are guitarist Jussi Parkkali and drummer Ville Vierimaa. The theme of the album covers homicide, war, misery and corruption adding to a beautifully crafted Doomy production.

The first track, 'Figures in a Terrain', starts off with a huge fat sounding riff that lays down the band's intentions. This is a massive opener and I love all the different melodies that we get from guitars to vocal melodies. It is really catchy and it has a nice tempo as well so really sets you in the mood for the rest of the album. 'Rallies in Rage' sinks us deeper into a empty pit of sludgy memorising doominess. The doubling of vocals is really clever in parts adding more atmospheric elements to the songs. Psychedelic twists are thrown into this one and this song gets stronger as we move into the last couple of minutes. A complete change from the first track.

'Man in the Attic' and 'Marrow' have a bit more space in the overall structures of the music. Stop-start riffs change again the feel and are not as claustrophobic as the first two. This is not as heavy in parts but they have more of a groove to them with some Sabbath-like riffs and drums fills to keep you engaged. His vocals remind me a little of Thomas Eriksson from Griftegård, whose style I really love. The production is tight but has a nice raw feel to it letting everything stand out especially the drums. Everything is recorded live in a more traditional way and you can really feel the '70s vibe throughout.

'In Its Absence' is one of my favourite tracks, it just has a mesmerising feel to it. His vocals are hauntingly superb on this song. The guitars again deliver a sludge fest of riffs with leads taking us far away. As we draw to the last track 'The Undoing' it brings down a very memorable debut album for me. Another strong track to end this monstrosity of musical heaviness. The drums on this track are amazing and I urge you to grab this album as soon as you can.

Click HERE to discuss this review on the doom-metal forum.

Reviewer's rating: 8.5/10


Tracklist :
1. Figures In A Terrain
2. Rallies In Rage
3. Man In The Attic
4. Marrow
5. In Its Absence
6. The Undoing

Duration : Approx. 36 minutes

Visit the Earthbound Machine bandpage.

Reviewed on 2019-08-22 by Riccardo Veronese
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com