Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

A four-piece Croatian band, fronted by Margul Demonic (Morimus Funereus and others) and producing raw, bass-heavy and stripped-down slow Death/Doom proje...
(read more)

Anathema : Judgement

This effort by Anathema's, made it clear that the band from Liverpool made a definate choice for an atmospheric, heavy rock sound, abandoning any doom elements you could find in their music of the past.

Some of the elements they kept from their previous works, are the general atmosphere of melancholy, the emotional songs and a serious stigma in the eyes of their new audience of being the band that used to play death metal once.

'Judgement' is actually a quality work, featuring some of the most original and emotional rock music you can find in our days and it is a recommendation for all fans of quality music with a dark edge.

But this doesn't guarantee that most doom fans will like this work, especially not the ones that think that bands like f.i. Katatonia are too soft. But in my opinion, it's difficult to ignore the emotional, beautiful music one can find in this work, even if you feel depressed (like me) because so many doom bands abandon their roots and evolved towards a more accesible sound.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Deep
2. Pitiless
3. Forgotten Hopes
4. Destiny Is Dead
5. One Last Goodbye
6. Make It Right (F.F.S.)
7. Parisienne Moonlight
8. Don't Look too Far
9. Emotional Winter
10. Wings of God
11. Judgement
12. Anyone, Anywhere
13. 2000 & Gone

Duration : Approx. 56 minutes

Visit the Anathema bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Kostas Panagiotou
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com