Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Started out as a solo ambient project by Kairi Parker Shikari, but after the first release the band became a duo. From there it has grown to a band of three. Th...
(read more)

Fleshpress : No Return

Fleshpress have composed one of the most interesting new take on an old genre.

Fleshpress have been very busy recently, releasing two complementary EPs in the last 12 months, and one of them is No Return. The psychedelic yet nightmarish coverart is a perfect representation of what you'll get inside. The first thing that strikes is the Black Metal atmosphere that creeps all along the nearly 23 minutes of this EP. You have to wonder how much of it can be credited to the band’s drummer, Mikko Aspa (known for his participation in Stabat Mater, Deathspell Omega, Clandestine Blaze and Satanic Warmaster). The way he handles the drumming parts - as well as the clever use he does of his bass - does a lot to create something... different. Yet, don't be mistaken: it's still pure Fleshpress as you'll quickly realize when you'll get crushed by the first über-massive guitar riff and the demoniac vocals.

The first track is close to the specific kind of Black Metal that has been developed in Finland, and whose roots lie in infamous French bands like Seigneur Voland. The little melodic guitar parts, the shrieks, the hateful faster section at the end of the track... Fleshpress are still Sludge at heart, but there is now more in it: a renewed darkness creeping its way and gnawing from the inside. And it's good, as that mix of pure Black Sabbath-infused Sludge and cold Black Metal brings shivers down your spine; of pleasure or dread, only you can tell.

Talking about the Birmingham Four, their influence is even more prominent in the second track, introduced by one of those fat bass lines that Geezer is known for. Only that the atmosphere becomes less heavy, more at rest. Think about ‘Laguna Sunrise’ played by Eyehategod, and you'll be close to what it sounds like. This track is awesome, yet, like the previous one, very different from what I've been accustomed to with Fleshpress. There is still a very heavy groove, but it gives you the feeling of watching a city left in ruins after some major disaster. A sense of quiet and dread, the fear of what could come next, of calm yet impending doom.

The interaction between every instrument is perfect, creating each time something completely different but instantly recognizable. Together with the ’Rebuild/Crumble’ EP (which is supposed to be listened first, before this one), it leads to the creation of one of the most interesting new take on an old genre and something to be looked for and cherished by any Sludge fan planning to sail on some new murky waters.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1.No Return
2.Spiral Filter

Duration : Approx. 22 minutes

Visit the Fleshpress bandpage.

Reviewed on 2011-06-08 by Laurent Lignon
Hate Your Guts Records
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com