Album of the Month

The inclusion of additional veteran musicians on Ennui's third album lifts it to a new level.
(Read more)

Featured debut

Classic revisited

Random band

This Latvian melancholic doom/death band has a lot in common with Anathema, but never quite ventures into the melodic doom/death realm. Instead the band ...
(read more)

It Will Come : 47

Finally, a review of It Will Come's 'Forever Lost' track.

It Will Come released no more than eleven tracks before calling it a day. (And even then one of them was a cover.) Now, eleven songs may not seem like much from a band that did exist for five years, but the tracks they did produce amazed their audience. Each of their three demos made the reviewers go wild. I guess this is simply an example of how time consuming it is to make new tracks when one demands perfection of each and every one of them.

Now, this 2-in-1 re-re-release contains seven of the eleven It Will Come tracks, but I've already had my say on both of the demos before. (You can find the reviews here: '47'; 'Bound'.) That leaves us with just the remaining five minutes of unreviewed track, a track which has been featured nowhere else than as the bonus track for this very re-re-release.

Surprisingly, 'Forever Lost' is not a doom metal track. Rather I would call it a mournful, acoustic ballad. What is so special about this track is that it is the best example of just how good a vocalist Louise Halldin really is. The serenity of her voice is simply astounding. It somehow reminds me of what This Empty Flow would have sounded like if they had female vocals and decided to put on a cloak of romantic melancholy. 'Forever Lost' is one of the oldest recordings, dating back to 2005. Yet, this is the true swansong of It Will Come, and what a swansong it is...

I can but conclude with one thing: If you're a true fan of the band and already own the 2-in-1 relrease by December's Ghost Records, then I'm sorry - you still have to spend another few bucks to get this one. 'Forever Lost' is one of the bands best tracks and cannot be missed. For those who haven't already bought the 2-in-1 then make sure to get the one released by Trinity Records.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Deeper Into Nothing
2. Mute Witnesses
3. Sickness

4. Bound
5. Storm of Sin
6. Our Place

7. Forever Lost [bonus track]

Duration : Approx. 47 minutes.

Visit the It Will Come bandpage.

Reviewed on 2011-01-05 by Arnstein H. Pettersen
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com