Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Although they are a new band from South America, one would suspect Mourning Sun came from Europe during the peak of bands such as The Gathering, <...
(read more)

Sloth (US) : Toil And Fritter

Twenty songs, 20 minutes, and 20 times sillier than could possibly be healthy.

Toil And Fritter is the 5th in the series of homemade CDr's by Sloth. It is however the first of three CDr's to have no normal cover. Instead it comes in a while slipcase with a poster (which is the one you see at the top). The poster looks like things have just been cut from something, glued together and photocopied on an A4 sheet of paper. Unlike the previous CDr's it doesn't come with a proof of authenticity, nor does it say how many were made (allthough I don't believe there were many), but I know it's the real thing since I bought it directly from Dom.

The tracks are short, averaging only slightly above one minute in length, and quite heavy slabs of noise/sludge/doom. The focus is, as usual, on Sloth's typically blunt humor. It's perhaps one of their funniest releases and includes a tale about "Medium D" which is your average "hippety-pop" moron who believes all women are "hoes". Another tale is about someone who doesn't think she's a slut but "if it dresses like a duck, and smokes just like a duck", well then it's of course all right to put ones wiener into her behind (not to be taken seriously, of course). As a final example on lyrics I choose track 14 and they pretty much speak for themselves: "My wife's back hurts. And you can steal noodles in my garage." Nothing less than fantastically absurd.

While it's not very old this will still be one of the harder Sloth releases to get hold of. I keep a steady eye on eBay and I can't say I've seen this one up for auction ever. You have to be a die-hard fan to even bother going through the trouble of finding this CDr. But if you really are a die-hard fan and don't have it, stop at nothing, it's one of their best yet!

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. [untitled]
2. [untitled]
3. [untitled]
4. [untitled]
5. [untitled]
6. [untitled]
7. [untitled]
8. [untitled]
9. [untitled]
10. [untitled]
11. [untitled]
12. [untitled]
13. [untitled]
14. [untitled]
15. [untitled]
16. [untitled]
17. [untitled]
18. [untitled]
19. [untitled]
20. [untitled]

Duration : Approx. 23 minutes.

Visit the Sloth (US) bandpage.

Reviewed on 2010-11-08 by Arnstein H°ymo Pettersen
No God Only Pain
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com