Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Death Doom that doesn't stray from the more formal way: slow, heavy, dark and slightly melodic arrangements, deep growls that all contribute to creating a ...
(read more)

Sloth (US) : Sloth's Lack Of Sleep Volume 2 (No Pun Intended)

One of the great things about the way Sloth releases their CDr's is the fact that they are all approved as authentic copies by a notary public. So if it doesn't have an original stamp and signature, it's not an original either. Now that's what I call a professional CDr.

If you were wondering about the tracklist, then yes, it is entirely correct. Not a single one of the tracks has a name. The reason for that probably lies in the name of the EP. I suspect that most or all of the recordings here are purely improvised stuff that was recorded on a sleepless night. In all likelyhood you can add a few beers to the situational salad as well. Toss it a few times in the air to mix it well. The result is a strange yet silly mixture of sludgecore and doom metal.

The first 12 tracks has an average length of a minute and a half. The magic number 13 is different. It's a 10 minute long track with a single repeating riff right through it. The lyrics themselves actually seems to focus on that riff: "You get the idea/We've established a pattern/It's enough, let's move on, blahblahblah/I like this riff/Let's listen to this riff for a while/Make you really like it/Then we can come back later, blahblahblah/Then we can go back to being a conformist." To me it seems that they are taking the Iron Monkey approach to make people hate that song. At the same time it's a piss on regular artists. Not far from the end of the song the music stops and Dom announces his eBay name and talks about putting up some pez dispensers for sale. But as he then proceeds to say; "But the song is not over yet! I HATE THAT TONE!", after which the riff starts repeating again and you have to listen to it for another minute before the track ends.

I guess that's what you can expect from a crazy gang like this. Silly music for silly people. Admittedly I liked it, but what everyone can agree on is that whether or not you like the music, it's still an EP you won't easilly forget.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. [untitled]
2. [untitled]
3. [untitled]
4. [untitled]
5. [untitled]
6. [untitled]
7. [untitled]
8. [untitled]
9. [untitled]
10. [untitled]
11. [untitled]
12. [untitled]
13. [untitled]

Duration : Approx. 29 minutes.

Visit the Sloth (US) bandpage.

Reviewed on 22-08-2010 by Arnstein Petersen
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com