Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Actually a joint New Zealand/Australian project, Orphans Of Dusk fall under the Gothic Death/Doom banner. Given a melodic feel by the complex and intrigu...
(read more)

Seamount : Light II Truth

Aaahhhh.... This is a sigh of contentment. What a great album! What a fine band!

Seamount's second album is a rock-ish spacey ceremonial you don't hear too often. You have it all: There are choirs, impressive swing grooves, bluesy Doom, heavy fluent leads swirling around pounding drumming. Seamount's retro vibe is supremely addictive. This is vintage doomy odes of the highest order that look at all the greatest wizards of Doom Rock right in the eyes.

These guys are just cool; they know how to instill melancholy without losing their sharper rock 'n' roll attitude. Everything about that band breathes the warm air of the desert. This isn't dark, this is a piece of glorious Doom Rock. Like a wonderful and tasty stew of 'Sabbath and 'Vitus mixed with some Monster Magnet and even some ZZ Top in it. A round elegant bass sustains the voice of Phil Swanson (also in Hour of 13) which is one of the highlights of the album: it's subtle and conveys strong emotions; a bit nasal but full of temperament. I sometimes almost hear inflections a la David Bowie in the way it is modulated!

Seamount never give in to facility. All the songs are great, full of vigour and surprises. The tracks pile up without disappointing, without any weak points, each of them being very coherent and expertly crafted: Thundering or intimate, melancholic or wild, but always uninhibited and powerful.

This is very hearty and generous; I must say my only slight complain derives from their generosity: With 74 minutes and 13 songs, I find the album too dense; which, at the end, may detract a bit from the pleasure. Anyway, Seamount has now placed their name on the map. You won't miss them any more. A mandatory purchase.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Out of the Dark
2. Together Wear the Cross
3. Honey Flower
4. Stormchaser
5. Devils Mill
6. The Paradise
7. Light and Truth
8. Vampyropoda
9. Aken the Wizard
10. River Queen
11. That Witch
12. Sun at Night
13. Into the Light

Duration : Approx. 74 minutes.

Visit the Seamount bandpage.

Reviewed on 05-02-2010 by Bertrand marchal
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com