Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Flatlands is a borderline band. Their tracks are half and half of post-rock (Isis and Neurosis style) and heavy doom/sludge (Grief a...
(read more)

Winter : Into Darkness + Eternal Frost

While these two classic works of Winter were recorded and released in the beginning of the '90, Nuclear Blast decided to spoil the doom metal freak by re-releasing them together in one disc in 1999. This one disc contains all the tracks Winter ever released (since they split shortly after the Nuclear Blast release of their only full-length album 'Into Darkness') plus an unnecessary bonus noise track.

Winter was an extremely slow American death metal band with a remarkable philosophy and an unusual sound for its time: instead of the usual topics dealing with chopped-off heads, cannibalism or the powers of evil, Winter wrote ecologically minded lyrics about humanity which is heading towards the world destruction by abuse of the natural resources and the ever-progressing annihilation of the environment by human greed.

Musically they defied every conception of their time about how extreme music has to sound. Winter sounds slow, ugly and utterly heavy. The vocals are very deep and guttural contributing to the overall heaviness of the sound. Two of the tracks of the 'Eternal Frost' mCD are re-recorded for 'Into Darkness'. The versions of the songs on the full length album are even slower and sound less aggressive, but even more threatening and their production is much more powerful.

Winter didn't use any keyboards to create their unique, post-apocalyptic, depressive atmosphere. Instead they used low-tuned guitars implemented by echo effects. Thus they tried to remind the world that the end could be near, really near. If we don't change our attitude, we will disappear into darkness because of our own ignorance.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Oppression Freedom / Reprise
2. Servants Of The Warsmen
3. Goden
4. Power And Might
5. Destiny
6. Eternal Frost
7. Into Darkness
8. Servants Of The Warsmen
9. Eternal Frost
10. Winter
11. Blackwhole
12. [hidden track]

Duration : Approx. 71 minutes.

Visit the Winter bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Kostas Panagiotou
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com