Album of the Month

The inclusion of additional veteran musicians on Ennui's third album lifts it to a new level.
(Read more)

Featured debut

Classic revisited

Random band

While mainly dabbling in funeral/doom-death of the Thergothon-vein, other genres also get incorporated into the darkness of this Danish duo. Several simi...
(read more)

Voodooshock : Voodooshock

PsycheDOOMelic Records is the new music label associated with Psychedelic 'Zine, one of the world's best proponents of trad. Doom and psychedelic music, so I sat down to Germany's Voodooshock with high expectations. Could they be met? Well, hold the damned phone, 'cause Germany's VoodooShock is crushing like a mile-high tsunami, moving in slo-mo and pulverizing everything in its path.

The group features Uwe Groebel (formerly of Naevus) on vox and guitar, and Matthias Greilinger (bass) and Christian Specker (drums), both ex-End of Green. The VoodooShock sound is a combination of Doom's old school (especially Maryland's) with a hit of heavy 70s prog: Think 'Sabbath, Wino, Life Beyond, Count Raven, The Obsessed, Saint Vitus, Spirit Caravan, and Pentagram and combine them with High Tide, Blue Cheer, and the NWOBHM. It's a pretty picture, yes indeed. As always, when one trots out these solid gold influences, the problem is originality. But, like the best of the genre, VoodooShock take it all in and churn out their own beautiful, doomed concoction.

Standouts include 'Fountain of Freedom', with its killer opening riff. Uwe's vocals sound uncannily like Danny Kenyon from Life Beyond, and believe me, that's a very good thing. 'Tomorrow's Bloom' gives you a big hit on the 'Volume 4' pipe, and the last three cuts slow it down in good blues doom fashion, for a properly mournful feeling. And don't forgettheir unexpected take on the old Moody Blues radio classic, 'Nights in White Satin', which they quickly make their own, turning it into a mournful - yet still beautiful - dirge.

The songwriting quality on this album is wonderfully consistent; there's not a bad tune on the whole disc, and the musical talent is first-rate in every respect. So just remember: the fortunes of death, black, and stoner may ebb and flow, but DOOM SHALL RISE!!

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Fountain of Freedom
2. Rainbow Sky
3. Tomorrow's Bloom
4. Lady
5. Amazing Fire
6. Living in Paradise
7. Electric Mind
8. Showtime
9. Nights in White Satin
10. We Cry

Duration : Approx. 61 minutes.

Visit the Voodooshock bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Kevin McHugh
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com