Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Death Doom riddled with weird and rather out-of-place faster parts, heavy and slow funerary passages suddently leaving room for a drummer's fast and destru...
(read more)

Tiamat : A Deeper Kind of Slumber

'A Deeper Kind of Slumber' follows the change of its predecessor, the successful 'Wildhoney' album. Tiamat, with Edlund at the helm, risked with a new sound that is experimental to say the least. You'll find no grunts or harsh vocals on this one; only clear, dreamy voice, suitable to the music. Defining the music is honestly the most difficult task here. There are a few elements of metal, but all in all this is not a metal album. Trance music is probably the best description.

Anyway, a new, different Tiamat is presented on 'A Deeper Kind of Slumber'. This kind of slow songs were first introduced on the previous album, but this time every note seems to fall in the right place; what you get on this album, is one mature band which has clearly made progress. The opener 'Cold Seed' instantly surprises with its cheerful and catchy guitar line, but things quickly settle down with the hypnotic 'Teonanacati'. Songs like 'Alteration X 10' and 'The Whores of Babylon' perfectly show just what Tiamat are capable of. The superb title track closes this fine, fine album.

Even though this album has very little to do with doom-metal or metal in general, its dreamy and slow moments might appeal to a doom-metal fan.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Cold Seed
2. Teonanactl
3. Trillion Zillion Centipedes
4. The Desolate One
5. Atlantis As A Lover
6. Alteration X 10
7. Four Leary Biscuits
8. Only In My Tears It Lasts
9. The Whores Of Babylon
10. Kite
11. Phantasma De Luxe
12. Mount Marilyn
13. A Deeper Kind Of Slumber

Duration : Approx. 60 minutes.

Visit the Tiamat bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Bojan Janjanin
Hate Your Guts Records
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com