Album of the Month

The debut full-length from Greek band Automaton is weighty, sludgy, coffin-lid-slamming Doom perfection.
(Read more)

Random band

Riffing doom influenced by B-Movie horror and 70s hardrock. Blood Farmers combines elements of St. Vitus, Sabbath, and Metallica for...
(read more)

Spiritus Mortis : Spiritus Mortis

I really admire the patience of some bands. Take for instance this Spiritus Mortis: although the band is around since 1987, it took them another 17 years of countless demos, line-up changes and the usual shit an underground band has to go through, to finally release their debut album through Rage of Achilles.

Spiritus Mortis is among the first ever Finnish classic doom bands. Their sound leans heavily towards traditional heavy metal, yet the base is most definitely doom. Their powerful, thunderous riffing and singer Vesa Lampi's strong vocals are undoubtedly the band's most distinguishable elements. They add to this album a proud, almost epic quality comparable to the grandness of Solitude Aeturnus. This resemblance is ever more emphasized by Vesa's frequent drawing-outs which have a definite Rob Lowe timbre to them.

Occasionally, the band presses on the accelerator with equally successful results. The faster parts on the album have a strong NWOBHM feel to them bringing at times the mighty early Trouble masterpieces in mind. All typical elements of the genre (including a doom ballad, the closing track 'Mighty One') are represented on this release, which can be rightfully considered to be the band's crowning achievement after so many years of hard labour. The 14 tracks on this release offer an unusually (for a doom band) diverse and eclectic mix and they don't bore the listener for a single second.

Similarly to the fact that the band has been shamefully ignored for so many years, it seems that also this release comes a bit in the shadow of other contemporary critically acclaimed releases of the genre, which is a pity as they deserve in a way the same attention for their hard work and quality of their material. Let's just pray to the gods that we won't have to wait for another 17 years to see the follow up release.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Forever
2. Beyond
3. Vow To The Sun
4. Death Walking
5. Doom Mood
6. Rise From Hell
7. Forbidden Arts
8. Baron Samedi
9. Flames
10. Tortilla Flat Suite No. 18
11. ...In Me
12. Sweet Oblivion
13. The Throne Will Fall
14. The Mighty One

Duration : Approx. 50 minutes.

Visit the Spiritus Mortis bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Kostas Panagiotou
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com