Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Slow and minimalistic drone with an empty feeling to it. Much like Sunn O))) and Earth....
(read more)

Pentagram : Pentagram

Pentagram hail from Arlington, Virginia and have been around in many different forms since 1971. In the 70's they had various other names like Macabre and Bedemon and their sound was inspired by the heavy blues rock bands of the late 60's/early 70's, especially by Blue Cheer. But in the early 80's their sound changed with the arrival of Victor Griffin (who later also joined Cathedral with Joe Hasselvander - who played in Pentagram as well, but later - on their 1994 tour with Black Sabbath) on guitar. He introduced Pentagram into doom metal (at the time they were called Death Row) with his Iommi inspired guitar style.

This is Pentagram's first full lenght and was later re-released by Peaceville on CD as 'Relentless'. The production is very raw, but it's well balanced, so you can hear pretty much every instrument clearly. The songs are mostly short, an average of around 4 minutes and they are filled with heavy kick ass riffs and melodic solos. The vocals of Bobby Liebling are clean and very strong, overall they're one of the highlights of Pentagram.

My favorite tracks on the album are the faster tracks 'Sign Of The Wolf' and 'Relentless' and the slower ones 'All Your Sins' (covered by Cathedral on 'In Memorium') and 'The Ghoul', certainly the creepiest one here (listen to the lyrics).

The band is going as a duo now (Bobby Liebling and Joe Hasselvander), but there was a recent reunion (early 2001) of the classic Pentagram line-up. Victor Griffin also now has a band named Place Of Skulls.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Death Row
2. All Your Sins
3. Sign of the Wolf
4. The Ghoul
5. Relentless
6. Run My Course
7. Sinister
8. The Deist
9. You're Lost, I'm Free
10. Dying World
11. 20 Buck Spin

Duration : Approx. 44 minutes.

Visit the Pentagram bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Baron-sam
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com