Doom-metalMDB
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:15 am

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Funeral Doom Pedals/Gear 
Forum User

Post Funeral Doom Pedals/Gear

I apologize if this is something that has been recently discussed on here, but looking over the last few pages, I didn't see anything specifically what I am looking for. Anyway...

I am new to playing bass, and the reason I wanted to pick up the bass is because I want to play Doom. Funeral in particular (but open to playing other styles). I have scoured the bowels of the internetz for information, but I keep on getting gear options for the Oh Em Gee popularz Stoner Doom (nothing wrong with that, I love Stoner). No one outside of the more dedicated Doom community even gets what I mean by Funeral Doom.

So, for those who possibly play the genre or at least familiar with gear, what are some pedals you recommend that I try out to get started? I of course want to develop my own sound and not be a copy cat, but there's a basis for everything. I talk to Lena of My Dying Bride a lot about being a bassist in a Doom band (she's fucking awesome and very personable!), and although Death/Doom is the basis of Funeral subgenre wise, it's still its own beast. She recommended sticking with overdrive/fuzz and delay. However I know Esoteric, for example, is HUGE on being pedal/effect whores. So there's a difference in opinion. Where should a Funeral Doomer start for getting that Mourning Congregation like aural depression?

As of right now, I picked up Black Art Toneworks "Coven" fuzz as my first pedal cuz I loved the sound.

Thanks everyone! /endnovel

PS. Holyfuck, I joined in 2008 and this is my very first post! lol

Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:44 pm
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

Post Re: Funeral Doom Pedals/Gear

welcome! I'm surprised you remembered your password... :D