The Doomed Forum
http://www.doom-metal.com/phpbb2/

The General Recommendation Thread
http://www.doom-metal.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4328
Page 4 of 54

Author:  Legion Of Doom [ Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

baphomet wrote:
Legion Of Doom wrote:
I'm wanting some Sabbath-worship bands that are lesser known on here. Bands that sound very much like early 70's Black Sabbath.


Orchid:
http://www.myspace.com/orchidsf


Thanks. Sounds very Sabbath-like. I love bands like these.

Author:  Farokh [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

I would like to know some Funeral Doom bands similar to Shape Of Despair, Doom:vs, Pantheist, ...
I already listened to : Skepticism, Longing For Dawn, Ataraxie, Worship, Mournful Congregation, Colosseum, Ahab,...
What I'm looking for is some king of melody in the music.
I hope you understand what I'm saying :D

Author:  baphomet [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

melody and epicness...
The Howling Void, no doubt!: http://www.myspace.com/thehowlingvoid
Profetus: http://www.myspace.com/profetus
Ea: IMO, only the second album is really good:


Author:  Orthodox Caveman! [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

In need of some stuff in the vein of Electric Wizard, Church Of Misery, Weedeater, Bongzilla! I know my fair share, so I hope for some new stuff! Just found out about Kamni, which made me very happy!

Author:  baphomet [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

Do you know Elder? Very much ala electric wizard
Saturnalia temple? A EW wannabe
The mighty Atolah/Relics ? EW goes instrumental
And all those FREE stuff?

Olde Growth (original - and excellent - mix of filthy Sludge, crushing Doom and lighter Stoner Rock): http://oldegrowth.bandcamp.com/

Mother Susurrus (Sludge): http://mothersusurrus.com/audio/mothersusurrusepvbr.zip

People Of The Monolithe/ ex-This Weary Hour (Sludge Doom): http://peopleofthemonolith.bandcamp.com/

Wizard Smoke (stoner doom) : http://wizardsmoke.net/

Author:  Orthodox Caveman! [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

baphomet wrote:
Do you know Elder? Very much ala electric wizard
Saturnalia temple? A EW wannabe
The mighty Atolah/Relics ? EW goes instrumental
And all those FREE stuff?

Olde Growth (original - and excellent - mix of filthy Sludge, crushing Doom and lighter Stoner Rock): http://oldegrowth.bandcamp.com/

Mother Susurrus (Sludge): http://mothersusurrus.com/audio/mothersusurrusepvbr.zip

People Of The Monolithe/ ex-This Weary Hour (Sludge Doom): http://peopleofthemonolith.bandcamp.com/

Wizard Smoke (stoner doom) : http://wizardsmoke.net/


Yeah I do! I really dig Atolah and Saturnalia Temple is quite decent as well! The others I don't care about too much. Thanks!

Author:  baphomet [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

ah, tough guy, huh?

well, check Flood/ Native:

http://www.myspace.com/floodingwater

Author:  Orthodox Caveman! [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

baphomet wrote:
ah, tough guy, huh?

well, check Flood/ Native:

http://www.myspace.com/floodingwater


Hey, this sounds interesting.. I have to check this out more

Author:  Farokh [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

baphomet wrote:
melody and epicness...
The Howling Void, no doubt!: http://www.myspace.com/thehowlingvoid
Profetus: http://www.myspace.com/profetus
Ea: IMO, only the second album is really good:


I'll definitely check them out
thanks

Author:  reaching_naat [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

I recommend the Absum cassette "Purgatoire" to funeral doom freax... At first you'll be like "WTF??" due to the shit sound quality. By song 3 (of 4), you'll likely realize that its actually fuckin' good!

Author:  Orthodox Caveman! [ Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

I recommend Gallactus, great stoner rock in the vein of Orange Goblin!

Author:  wyrd [ Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

Dude, try Spiritual Beggars. Their album "Ad Astra" would be a good place to start at.

Author:  baphomet [ Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

I wouldn't place SB and OG on the same level. just not the same vibe. Orange Goblin don't do it for me whereas I really like SB, less abrupt, less basic I'd say...

Author:  Orthodox Caveman! [ Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

baphomet wrote:
I wouldn't place SB and OG on the same level. just not the same vibe. Orange Goblin don't do it for me whereas I really like SB, less abrupt, less basic I'd say...


This as well, but anyone who's familiar with the Goblin knows the Beggars, basically. I prefer Orange Goblin over them, though.

Author:  Legion Of Doom [ Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

I'm back and I would like to hear more Black Sabbath-worship bands. :laugh:

Author:  baphomet [ Tue Nov 16, 2010 2:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

I suggest the whole trad doom scene. :D

Author:  Legion Of Doom [ Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

baphomet wrote:
I suggest the whole trad doom scene. :D


You're right. I was looking to make my search a little easier though.

Author:  baphomet [ Tue Nov 16, 2010 5:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

do you know Sheavy? you should check them out.

Author:  Legion Of Doom [ Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

baphomet wrote:
do you know Sheavy? you should check them out.


Yes, I know about them. They are pretty cool.

Author:  Orthodox Caveman! [ Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The General Recommendation Thread

Legion Of Doom wrote:
baphomet wrote:
do you know Sheavy? you should check them out.


Yes, I know about them. They are pretty cool.

Don't like them. In fact, I don't like any band with a vocalist that sounds like a Ozzy ripoff/copy. Fucking annoying.

Page 4 of 54 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/