Album of the Month

SubRosa return with their most Doom-oriented album to date, which proves to be yet another masterpiece.
(Read more)

Classic revisited

Random band

Desire played ultra-slow, atmospheric Doom/Death Metal with heavy usage of keyboards, romantic lyrics, and whispered vocals. Ultra deep grunts and a fair...
(read more)

2012-02-15 : Monarch news

With the release of MONARCH's sixth full-length, 'Omens', set for release in just two weeks via At A Loss Recordings, the band are set to embark on their first full tour in support of the crushing album. The chaos shall ensue this Friday in Basque Country, and devastate clubs throughout Europe into early March, tackling France, Belgium, Germany, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Denmark. MONARCH will unleash their captivating avant-sludge through their notoriously maniacal live show night after night, performing alongside atmospheric Irish black metal outfit Altar Of Plagues for the entire trek.

In support of the forthcoming album and the kickoff of the tour, as of today BrooklynVegan is streaming MONARCH's entire 'Omens' opus, alongside an exclusive interview with the band. Get your fix of pummeling, haunting sludge HERE.

A thirty-four minute down-tempo/down-tuned ethereal funeral dirge comprised of three tracks, Omens perfectly personifies what fans have come to embrace about MONARCH since their 2005 inception, their caustic, crushing style of slow-motion apocalyptic doom coming alive with haunting moans and layered, ghostly shrieks throughout Omens' entirety. The record features artwork by Yann Black and ValÚrie Poulin and will be released as a six-panel digipak CD in an initial pressing of 1,000 copies with a UV finish cover

'Omens' was recorded over a four month period in four different countries with four different producers -- Osaka, Japan by Hironori Ochi @ Kakurega, Melbourne, Australia by Neil Thomason @ Head Gap, Montreal, Canada by Matt Cartman @ Crane Studio, and Chicago, IL by Sanford Parker @ Engine Studios -- then mixed by Sanford Parker and mastered by Collin Jordan at The Boiler Room (Twilight, Ministry, Yob). The album features newest MONARCH member Rob Shaffer (Dark Castle, YOB) along with guitarist Shiran Ka´dine (Year of No Light), bassist MicHell Bidegain, and as always the ethereal, penetrating vocals of Emilie Bresson. The record also includes guest appearances by Atsuchi Sano (Birushanah), Yailen Munoz (Ensorcelor), Eric Quach (Thisquietarmy), Jeanne Peluard (The Sparteens) and Robert MacManus (ex-Grey Daturas, ex-Monarch).

Monarch Facebook
At A Loss
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com