Album of the Month

The debut full-length from Greek band Automaton is weighty, sludgy, coffin-lid-slamming Doom perfection.
(Read more)

Random band

Sol is Danish Emil Brahe’s one-man project. One singular untamed act, that one, using accordion, banjo and diversified original guitar patterns. The ov...
(read more)

Quick Introductory Interview.

Interview with 0Xist.
1. Who are you and how did the band get started?

0 X í S T, as for “zero exist”, are Jani Koskela - Vocals / Guitar, Henrik Hajanti - Guitar, Sameli Köykkä - Bass & Mikael Ahlsten - Drums. We play slow and heavy Dark Metal.

The band started in 2008 and the first line-up was completed in the summer 2009. Back then we had Ossi Leino on bass guitar and Andy Koski-Semmens on drums.

2. Why did you choose Doom, and how would you describe your style?

Our aim is to create Dark Metal that stands truly for the description. So far the slow and doomy approach has been the most effective way to achieve the right feeling.

I personally became aware of the Doom Metal description by being first introduced to slow death/doom crossover bands around 1990. Albums like “Lost Paradise” by Paradise Lost lead me to discover bands such as Candlemass, Solitude Aeturnus, Saint Vitus, Revelation and all other classic Doom Metal bands. I have always been fascinated by dark music, as well as the heavy music - therefore Doom Metal and the related genres have remained on the top my interest list since those days.

3. What would you consider to be the high point of your career so far?

Right now it must be the fact that our debut album “Nil” is finally coming out in October 2012. Other small highlights for 0xíst has been our Lithuanian mini-tour earlier this year and the fact that Ostra Records released our very first release “Unveiling the Shadow World” CDEP in 2010.

4. Which three bands most influenced you?

If I just look simply into the foundations and basic idea of our sound - they are Celtic Frost/Triptykon, Bethlehem and Deinonychus. Which translates to us having the obligation to be creative, dark, twisted, heavy and to earn our own right to exist.

5. What are your plans for the near future?

To write new music, to make new releases and to play live.

6. If there is anything you would like to add, the last words are yours.

Check out our debut album “Nil” on Ostra Records / Cold Void Emanations. Here is a sample track “Shrivel”. For more information visit our homepage at www.zeroexist.net. Our band name is pronounced as “zero exist” and therefore it is always written with the number “0”.

Visit the 0Xist bandpage.

Interviewed on 2012-09-16 by doom-metal.com.
Rotten Copper
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com